Shirin Farhad ki toh nikal padi – review

8:15 am – saw the promos in the papers. The pairing of Boman Irani with Farah Khan looked odd. But the promise of Sanjay Leela Bansali behind the project coupled with last Boman Irani’s movie ‘Ferrari ki sawari’ started the itch in my head. Dilemma whether to bunk office for first half and watch the first day first show?

9.30 am – left for office in dilemma

10.20 am – In office, no major delivery for the day. Made up my mind 20 minutes later, I was in Cinemax multiplex.

So first what the promos say

A story of Farhad (Boman Irani), 45 yr old single parsi, works as a Bra and Panties salesman never found a love. Shirin (farah khan), almost of same age never got married because of her family problems. They met couple of times and they were head over heals in love with each other. Farhad’s mom didn’t approve of this marriage. On the other side,  Shirin and Farhad were hell bent on getting married. What happens, I leave it as suspense.

So here’s my review

This movie is edited and directed by Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s sister Bela.

First let’s talk about the performances of the lead characters – Bhasali said in the papers, “Farah Khan is a better actor then director”. I beg to differ Mr. Bhansali, she will be better remembered as an awful actor than an awful director. She can’t even emote one emotion properly in this movie. She can’t even modulate her voice forget about bringing emotions in it.

Boman Irani – for the first time he is unconvincing in his role. He comes across as a very solid guy during the first 20 minutes of a movie. Then for the rest of the time, he goes back to emote a character of under achiever parsi. Probably his worst performance till date. Raju Hirani – please note before casting him in Next Munnabhai.

Let me rant a little more.

Story sucked big time – Sanjay might have written it in like 5 minutes. Am sure, if he would have spent extra 10 minutes, he could have done better job.

I enjoyed the first 10 minutes of the movie – first 5 minutes when I mistakenly got in to another Screen where ‘Ek Tha Tiger’ was playing. The next 5 minutes – during the Trailer of ‘English Vinglish’

Title – incorrect one. there’s nothing where they were really happy. Most of the time they had to face Shirin’s mom and had to run around and fix things. The correct one could have been

“Shirin Farhad ki toh Lag gayee”

Editing and Direction by Bela – I know why Sawariya and Guzaarish boomed (for the un-initiates Bela did the editing of these two movies).

Music is the key in Bhasali’s film – even in his Last movie he was the music director himself. Guess, why he hired a separate music director this time? Any guesses? Ok no candies for guessing – he didn’t want to waste time more time on a  feeble project.

There was a moment when I got emotional and I was in tears for full 5 minutes. When I saw the credits of the movie being rolled out in the end. So many people’s effort has gone to the dogs.

May be I guess the conversation between Bela and Sanjay would have started like this

Bela – I want to direct a movie

Sanjay – Go ahead

Bela – I want you to produce it

Sanjay – How much you want?

Bela – whatever, I don’t care.

Sanjay (grudgingly) – Ok fine, but my budget is Rs. ****** . I will see if I can rope in Lulla to fund that.

Bela – Great, one more thing

Sanjay – now what?

Bela – I want you to write the story

Sanjay – not me, come on you can do it yourself.

Bela – please, just one love story

Sanjay – what’s a big deal – just make a love story with odd characters

Bela – like?

Sanjay –  Two 45 yr olds…. Don’t ask me to write the entire one.

Bela – No No….Thank you Sanjay, you’re the bestest.

Dear reader, please forward this to all your friends to stop them from watching this movie.

Dear SLB, if you’re reading this, please send me a Cheque of Rs. 150 (not including the charges incurred on Mangola). I promise I will bring this review down.

3 thoughts on “Shirin Farhad ki toh nikal padi – review

Do comment before you leave :)