Plea from a thirteen year old girl

Dear citizens of my country and honorable President,

I am a 13 year old girl from G.B. Road New Delhi which is not-so-far from Rashtrapati Bhavan (President’s house). I am writing this letter to let you know that I will be forced to join THE OLDEST PROFESSION in the world, in two weeks and I want someone to help me get a better life other than this one.

Just a bit about myself, I was born in Sonagachi in Kolkata. Just like everyone else who have been born there, I too don’t know who my father is. Last month, I have been brought to Delhi and fed on a special diet and taken pills which will speed up my growth at right places. We’re a bunch of 5 girls (others are from  , Kamathipura in Mumbai, Reshampura in Gwalior and Budhwar Peth in Pune) and we are undergoing a thorough training in bollywood-sleaze dance. The trainer suggests that if we become good at it, we will have to take fewer calls in a night. Talking about calls, I know from my mom and other aunties that they attend somewhere around 3-5 calls every single day.

I cried for more than 2 weeks in a row after being snatched away from my mother. She couldn’t do anything because she didn’t have any money to free herself (or myself) from our owners in Sonagachi.

Poverty has forced my mother to join the profession like some of her neighbors. My aunt told me that there are 20 Million (same as the population of Australia) sex workers  in India and soon I will be one of them. The girl from Kamathipura told me that there are around 2 lakh alone in Mumbai. These numbers seem to double every 5 years just like the old Kisan Vikas Patra.

I am terrified by the stories of my fellow residents. I have never been brave. One of my aunt said, ‘You don’t have to be brave or anything, you will learn on the job’. Like her, many are waiting for a chance to escape, but poverty, lack of education, lack of identity pulls us back in to the profession.

I heard from the same aunt that our President spends 3-crore-a-day when she goes out for travel. My request to her is please visit us (since she just lives 15 km from where I stay)  and see the conditions in which we’re living. If she cancels her one trip, at least 1000 girls like me can have a good life. Just visit us.

To the fellow citizens of my country, may I request you to talk to your sons, brothers, nephews about our situation openly. As this industry survives only because of men and their needs.

One brave woman Sunitha Krishnan is working for our freedom, please listen to her.

With a ray of hope that someday you will take some action to free us all, I am ending this letter.

Jai Hind.

~ * ~

Links:

This post is my second Official entry for Time To Change hosted by IndiBlogger. Link –  here

http://facebook.com/sftimetochange

Sources: Wikipedia

PS: work of fiction

If you are an Indiblogger, click here to vote

7 thoughts on “Plea from a thirteen year old girl

  1. Touching…will share too…wish our President/Members of Parliament get to read this, and are motivated to act..

Do comment before you leave :)

